lumia820box_thumb.jpg

One Week with the Lumia 820: Day 1

Six years is already too long to be holding on to a mobile phone, and my trusty old Omnia is already begging to be replaced since the end of 2012. It eventually gave up mid-April, mostly due to its problematic jack, where a headphone, USB connector or a charger is plugged. There’s no questioning that they were absolutely very essential accessories for the device, serving as the lifeblood of the device. I made several attempts to resuscitate the device, spending almost a fortune for replacements, but the truth has finally dawned on me after my funds started to get drained: I really needed to get a new phone now.

lumia820box

Day –1: Luckily, my device died at the right time. The Philippines is known to get newer devices late compared to neighboring countries, but Nokia’s newest Lumia devices, the 820 & 920, were available around February, just 3 months after they hit major markets. For the record, it has been my intention ever since to acquire either of the two devices, and my only area of concern is pricing. I did consider some Android devices just in case I won’t be able to meet the price, mostly the Jellybean handsets from Lenovo or HTC.

But where the same brand is concerned, I was honestly torn between the 820 and 920 (and another device, the HTC 8X which is being compared to the 920). There is no doubt that the 920 is better in every aspect, and I was actually surprised when I learned that the price is within my range. The deciding factor is its camera and I was also overwhelmed with its generally glowing reviews. It was undoubtedly a premium handset, making it almost comparable to the Galaxy S4. It took weeks however before I came up to a decision. I actually made my choice right on the day I made the purchase.

Day 0: In the end, I tried operating both devices at the Nokia store and I suspected that this was the reason I was swayed by the 820. Here are the reasons why I ended up getting an 820 instead:

  • Yes, having top-of-the-line hardware is worth it only for bragging rights (heh), though that makes it future-proof, making it more usable for an extended period of time. The 820 almost have the same specs as a typical Jellybean-capable Android handset, and while its camera is weaker than that of the 920, its 8.7MP camera* is better than most other phones of similar specs. The 820 is in my opinion an almost premium phone as well.

    Consider the specs:
    • Qualcomm Snapdragon™ S4 Dual-core 1.5 GHz
    • 4.3” WVGA (800 x 480) ClearBlack display
    • 1 GB RAM
    • 8 GB mass storage with expandable memory card and 7 GB SkyDrive storage
    • 8 MP camera, 3264 x 2448 pixels, Carl Zeiss

    On a funny note, I wonder what’s the deal with them promoting the 7 GB cloud storage.

  • While I still have some money left if I purchased the 920, I was eventually overcome by a sense of thriftiness, particularly since there was a ₱10,000 difference between the two devices. (I had previously researched on the web for the price of the 820 and the SRP for the device is ₱19,000. The device was also sold to me at a discounted price). It was a huge difference, admittedly. I could ignored it otherwise if the difference is much lower.

  • I honestly think it’s a bad combination for a phone too be too thin and yet too wide. I chose the 820 over the 920, if only because of the extra width that the 920 has.

  • The 820 has an SD card slot, compared to the 920 which doesn’t have one. I’m betting it big that it will eventually be exploited for sideloading of apps. Besides, I’m not comfortable mixing user files such as documents, music and video files with system and program files.

Page 1 of 4

With Deep Breath →

Your feedback will be greatly appreciated

