Quick Post: Readership

Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack?
No, it’s messy and distracting.

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?
When I was a kid, I had lots of doodles in a book. [I can’t find the book anymore. 😦 I actually loved the drawings there.] This is probably the reason why I don’t mind writing inside books. I just don’t see the point of doing it now.

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?
Yup, I do dog-ears, and I also lay the book flat open. This is basically a proof that I had already touched the book.

Fiction, Non-fiction, or both?
Both, even though I used to be reading fiction books exclusively. Reading nonfiction books was just a recent addiction.

Hard copy or audiobooks?
Never ever considered audiobooks. I didn’t really like the idea of listening to someone read the book for me.

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point?
I tend to read down a book until I basically got exhausted. But I do stop at chapters whenever I finish a session.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away?
I tend to infer the meaning of the word rather than consult a dictionary. Besides, I had a tendency to read books which has their own specialized dictionaries, such as the Wheel of Time series, Watership Down, or Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell.

What are you currently reading?
Just finished reading State of Fear by Michael Crichton, currently re-reading Harry Potter 7: Deathly Hallows, just a refresher. I dunno what to read next. There are actually lots of books in my waiting list, including: Lord of Chaos (Robert Jordan), Atlas Shrugged (Ayn Rand), Four Past Midnight (Stephen King), Speaker for the Dead (Orson Scott Card), a couple of Tony Hillerman books, and so many more.

What is the last book you bought?
Sadly, I purchase plenty of books on a regular basis. I can’t get over this addiction. 😦 Some of the more recent ones that I can remember includes The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold, The Terminal Man by Michael Crichton (just to complete my collection of his works), Scripts People Live, October Sky, and Well of Lost Plots. I hope The Kite Runner is still there at Booksale in SM Tarlac, I’m planning to buy it. I don’t really mind if a book is old or not current. It’s just not practical because recently released books are generally expensive. I can wait for the book to drop down in price after sometime, or as soon as there’s a sale.

Are you the type of person that only reads one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time?
I’ll stop reading a book and pick another if the book is too boring or too difficult to read (there’s a difference between those two). Though I mostly were able to finish most of the books I’m reading. I don’t see the point of reading two or more books simultaneously.

Do you have a favorite time of day and/or place to read?
Nope. I read when I had nothing to do (and so the time varies), and only in places where I could be isolated or alone. And yup, I read inside the bathroom. 😛

Do you prefer series books or stand alone books?
I hate series, not because they aren’t any good (for the record, I did finish quite a handful) but because it’s too hard to complete the full series, particularly since I generally don’t purchase books from popular bookstores.

Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over?
None that I could think of. I do have several books by some authors, including Stephen King, Clive Barker, Tony Hillerman, Tom Robbins, Elizabeth Peters, Robert Ludlum, PD James and Dean Koontz, but in general, I keep an unpopular opinion when it comes to books or go with the flow just to be current, so there’s no point in recommending any author to anyone.

How do you organize your books? (By genre, title, author’s last name, etc.?)
No specific pattern. Maybe the recently read and pending ones on top, and books I had no interest in at the bottom. I do tend to cluster books written by the same author to make it easier to search for a book.

One comment on “Quick Post: Readership

  1. Pingback: World Spinner

Your feedback will be greatly appreciated

