Installing Windows 7 on Acer Aspire 5500

Vista is notorious for being a hardware hog. The optimal specs for Vista is at least 3.0GHz of processing power, around 1GB of RAM and a 128MB graphics card.

And it just so happened that I had to reformat (yet again) my Acer Aspire 5500 because of the usual reason. Unfortunately for some reason, eRecovery was inexplicably gone. I have to reinstall Windows from the ground up. My XP installers are all gone, so I have to resort to either Vista or Win7. I did a quick check on the specs and got the following:

  • Intel Pentium M processor 740 (1.73GHz, 533MHz FSB, 2MB L2 cache)
  • ATI Mobility Radeon X700
  • 512MB DDR2 RAM
  • 802.11bg WLAN

Which is why the obvious improvement of Win7 over Vista was welcome. On my rig that contains both version of Windows, Vista consumes about 1.1GB of RAM, compared to Win7 that eats only around 500MB.

But the question still remains, is it possible for such an under-spec’ed machine to run Windows 7?

Hell, yeah.

The setup, unfortunately was longer than usual, taking about 30 minutes.

The cool dancing-balls-of-light boot screen didn’t load, instead, the boring Vista style boot screen was used. Not much of a loss, really.

I didn’t even have to worry about drivers. With a quick Windows Update, I was able to install all the drivers that are needed.

Contrary to popular opinion, I was able to activate Aero on the system. Hell, I was even jealous because Aero looks more vibrant on that laptop than on mine because it has dedicated graphics card, as compared to mine where it’s embedded on the chip.

EDIT (7/10/09): color consistency and missing texts.

4 comments on “Installing Windows 7 on Acer Aspire 5500

  1. Well, I’m gonna upgrade the 5500WXMi right now to Windows 7 Ultimate and see how it goes. The CPU on this laptop is buggy (overheats), I suspect due to some water damage earlier, but other than that, the Aspire 5500 meets the requirements for Windows 7, so we should be ok :-).

  2. All of my posts were based on actual experience. I actually don’t see the point of replicating info’s from other more popular blog sites, hence the tag line 😀

  3. Pingback: Articles Galore! « HardWi®ed: [Refresh]

  4. hi I was luck to come cross your topic in bing
    your topic is terrific
    I get much in your topic really thanks very much
    btw the theme of you site is really terrific
    where can find it

Your feedback will be greatly appreciated

