Vista User

When Vista was introduced two years ago, I decided that I’m going to skip a version of Windows for the first time. Since the first time I owned a PC, I have tried every version of the consumer version of Windows, including 98, 2K, XP and even ME. (As for 95 & 3.1, I’ve used them in the computer labs when I was in high school)

I normally don’t believe in reviews because I think there’s always at least a hint of bias in them, but there’s no denying Vista’s disappointing improvements over XP (which undoubtedly was the best Windows to date) as most reviews have claimed. Besides, Vista’s hardware requirements are downright hefty, and my system haven’t gotten any significant upgrade for the past two years. I actually liked Vista’s glossy UI, but there were a lot of ways to implement it on XP. But the biggest reason why I don’t want to move to Vista is this, I just couldn’t get enough of XP. XP was that good.

And so I remained an XP user for the next two years. Then this December, I just received a fairly-spec’ed laptop. It’s an HP 520, with a dual-core processor and 3GB worth of RAM. But as the running gag on OS’s continues, it’s still running on XP. 😉

The decision to change my OS happened during the Christmas vacation. My rig sure had undergone a lot of torture during those times because of overuse, even made worse because I didn’t have enough time to supervise and administer the involved users. And it just so happened that one day, it just acquired a very nasty virus, probably originating from one of those USB devices that had been plugged in (I always remind my users not to execute any of the Autoplay options when a device is plugged, or open the drive from “My Computer,” use Windows Explorer instead, but it seems that it’s really hard to kick old habits). The virus was that particular strain that causes all folders to become hidden, replaced by fake trojan folders (which are actually executables masquerading as folders). I am capable of fixing the problem, but, the thing with malwares is that they cause permanent damage to the OS, even with complete eradication of them (in general, most malwares are composed of multiple sets of files and programs spread out throughout the whole system, plus a modification of certain system files, the registry and even folders. [At one time, I was frustrated with a certain virus because it was just too damn persistent. Turns out the little bastard is hiding within the “System Volume Information” folder]) As I have learned from experience, the best way to cleanse a system is to do a fresh installation of an OS. I don’t need to worry too much about data loss, all of my important files were properly backed up (which is why in addition to anti-malware software, backup software is also a good investment).

And so this time, I have to consider Vista. Maybe, just maybe, there was really some improvement to Windows security as MS had claimed. Besides, my hardware is powerful enough to handle it. It wasn’t an easy transition, however.

2 comments on “Vista User

  1. Pingback: The Long Road to Vista « HardWi®ed: [Refresh]

Your feedback will be greatly appreciated

